Family Handbook - Policies and Procedures | Goodstart

The National Quality Framework

The National Quality Framework (NQF) has been designed to encourage continuous improvement of education and care services across Australia. One of its important features is that it sets out a series of National Quality Standards (NQS) against which all early childhood education and care services will be assessed and given a rating.

The seven quality areas are:

  1. Educational program and practice.
  2. Children’s health and safety.
  3. The physical environment.
  4. Staffing arrangements.
  5. Relationships with children.
  6. Collaborative partnerships with families and communities.
  7. Leadership and service management.

Goodstart’s policies and procedures are built on these key seven areas. You can find more information about the NQF and NQS at

All Early Childhood Education and Care Services are required to have policies and related documents in relation to certain matters under Regulation 168 of the Education and Care Services National Regulations.

If you would like a copy of any regulation 168 document that supports these as listed below, please speak with your Centre Director or contact our Family Support Team on 1800 222 543.